the coup

It amazes me how oblivious I can be sometimes.  I didn’t even know that The Coup served exclusively vegetarian dishes until after I finished an epic lunch there one day.  I realized afterwards, while I was trying to focus through the last couple of hours of work, that, hey… I just ate at a vegetarian place!  No meat in sight!  And you know what?  I couldn’t even tell.  Maybe it’s because as much as I love meat, I also love the more popular vegetarian items like tofu.  Maybe I was just hungry and enjoying the company of my dining companion so much that it really didn’t matter what we were eating, so long as it tasted good.  Whatever it was, all I know is that I enjoyed eating at The Coup.

I’d been wanting to try this place for a while, but find that it’s way too busy during the lunch hour if it’s not timed right.  I set a lunch date on a quieter Friday (adjacent to a long weekend so less people at work) for 11:30am, hoping that our earlier arrival would work to get us a table.  Lucky for us, the tactic worked.  Only a few of the tables were occupied and we took a seat near the windows, where it opened up to the patio.  The space itself isn’t very large but has a nice, relaxed vibe, and it’s connected to what they call the Meet Lounge next door.  I didn’t get a chance to peek into the lounge side, however.

A lot of items looked really good, but when our server told us the Soup of the Day was broccoli, it sounded so delicious that I had to somehow work it into my meal.  They offer a half-size soup, so I opted for this to be able to get an accompanying dish and not feel so full.  My dining companion had the same train of thought.  We both loved the rustic quality of the broccoli soup – you can definitely tell that it’s homemade.  It was warm, chunky, and seasoned just right.  Served with a side of toasted foccacia, it was a great start to the meal.

For my main, I chose the Lotus Root salad (warm asian greens, lotus root and organic cherry tomatoes in a citrus ponzu sauce, topped with toasted pine nuts and crispy tofu).  I was basically sold at “crispy tofu”.  As a lover of all things crispy and all things tofu, this was a winning combination.  Everything was so fresh and crisp, with the greens seasoned nicely in the ponzu sauce.  I actually felt very healthy eating this and it was just the right amount of food.

My dining companion chose the Beachfront Hot Pot (spicy coconut tomato lime broth loaded with seasonal vegetables, lotus root, edamame, lemongrass and rice vermicelli noodles), a recommendation from our server as she couldn’t decide between two dishes.  It was very well received and she said it was an excellent choice.

By the time we’d finished, the place was filled up with the lunching crowd and the patio was starting to get filled up, even though it was pretty chilly outside.  We were glad to have chosen The Coup for our lunch date and we both vowed to make another date to try some of their other dishes very soon.  They always have new items and specials that sound intriguing.  I also like that The Coup supports local farmers and uses organic produce as much as possible.  It always feels good to support a place that’s all about fresh, local ingredients.

Even if you’re a meat lover, give The Coup a try.  You probably won’t miss the meat – I know I didn’t!

The Coup
924 17 Ave SW
Calgary, AB T2T 0A2
Phone: (403) 541-1041
http://www.thecoup.ca/

The Coup on Urbanspoon

3 thoughts on “the coup”

  1. Ahhhhh….I’m in love with these photos. And incredibly hungry for tofu. Yeah, “crispy tofu” would have sold me immediately too. This looks and sounds like a place I need to try. Lately, I’m not loving meat. At all. For no other reason than I just don’t have a taste for it, but I could dive in to each one of these photos and be in food heaven. They ALL sound so good. That Beachfront Hot Pot, oh my! I’m so jealous of you guys :)

  2. This is my favorite restaurant in Calgary! The falafel quesadilla and the dragon bowl are to die for and the desserts are heavenly. These pics are beautiful. Great blog!

Leave a Reply

