our wedding food was awesome

You know what they say about weddings.  At the end of it, people will always remember the food – whether it was good, bad, or truly terrifying.  Or if there was enough, too much, not enough variety, or too exotic.  Luckily for us, we seemed to have struck all the right chords when it came to our reception and food offerings.

We knew we wanted our reception to be held at a restaurant.  As food lovers, we wanted to treat my guests to a delicious meal in a casual atmosphere.   So we went with the always delicious Boxwood Cafe located in Central Memorial Park.  The best part was that we had the place to ourselves – the quaint, warm 44-seater restaurant truly fit what we were looking for.  They were patient with us while we worked out all of the logistical details (like going through many revisions of the seating chart, which I could not have accomplished without my beloved Matron of Honour/Wedding Coordinator) and we were excited to see how it would all turn out.

I also want to highlight that they allowed us to bring in desserts and cake from outside vendors.  As a doughnut lover, I needed to have a doughnut spread as part of the dessert table.  So I hit up one of my favourite local shops, Jelly Modern Doughnuts, and the result was this gorgeous spread:

MC_Wedding-Recp-4

Beautifully decorated in one of our signature colours, Gold, and delicious as always.  One can never go wrong with Jelly Modern!

As for our cake, we went with a gluten-free chocolate cake from Crave Cookies and Cupcakes, another one of my favourite local shops.  Why the gluten-free?  We’d actually been on a gluten-free diet for a few months leading up to the wedding and wanted to try our best to stick to it for the reception (didn’t work so well because… I will explain later).  Adorned with our custom cake topper that I bought from this Etsy shop (side note on Etsy – that place is seriously addictive.  If I didn’t have any self control, I’d blow ALL MY MONEY buying Etsy stuff), it turned out great:

MC_Wedding-Recp-15

Several of our guests commented that it was one of the best cakes they’d ever had – and they didn’t even know it was gluten-free!  Hah!  Fooled them all, Crave Cupcakes.  But in all seriousness, you truly cannot tell that it’s a gluten-free cake.  If all gluten-free cakes tasted like this one, the world would be a much happier place.

Moving onto the reception, we had a steady flow of items starting with a couple of appetizers, both of which I didn’t even get a chance to taste.  Insert sad face here.  Here’s one of them being prepared.  I’d love to tell you what it tasted like, but I got nowhere near the plates of these.  Insert more sad face.

MC_Wedding-Recp-37

I did, however, get to eat plenty of the rotisserie chicken and whatever sorcery they did to the stuffing that came with it because OMG THAT STUFFING… I’ve never seen stuffing that was formed into a loaf and cut into slices, but it was so good (aaaand that’s when the gluten-free went out the window), eaten with the tender, juicy rotisserie chicken.

MC_Wedding-Recp-80

MC_Wedding-Recp-120

MC_Wedding-Recp-102

And just when you think, “how could it possibly get any better than this chicken and stuffing?”  Out comes the PORCHETTA.  Because… CRISPY SKIN.  That’s why.

MC_Wedding-Recp-121

MC_Wedding-Recp-122

CRISPY SKIN GET IN MY BELLLLLYYYY.

MC_Wedding-Recp-123

MORE GRATUITOUS PORCHETTA SHOTS.  PORCHETTTAAAAAAAAA.

MC_Wedding-Recp-137

MC_Wedding-Recp-138

Happiness is eating this porchetta.  Perfectly seasoned, tender pork goodness, and that mound of crispy skin.  OM NOM NOM NOM.

I didn’t know how I was going to be able to fit another morsel in my belly.  I ate so much that the boning in my wedding dress was killing me. But how can one say no to dessert?

MC_Wedding-Recp-232

MC_Wedding-Recp-192

The brownies were delicious, but the true star was the warm sticky toffee pudding.  OH MY.  It was one of the best desserts I’ve ever had.  So moist, so caramelly (yes I made that up), so decadent.  It was an all-out war to get the last remaining bits of this floating around.

Overall, the food and service were fantastic, everyone was well-fed, and we turned a few first-time Boxwood diners into Boxwood fans.  It was truly a night to remember – I say in this case people will remember the food as more than good.

Boxwood Cafe
340 13 Avenue SW
Calgary, AB
Phone: (403) 265-4006
http://www.boxwoodcafe.ca/

Jelly Modern Doughnuts
1414 8 St SW
Calgary, AB
Phone: (403) 453-2053
http://www.jellymoderndoughnuts.com/

Crave Cookies and Cupcakes
1107 Kensington Rd NW
Calgary, AB T2N 1V5
Phone: (403) 270-2728
http://www.cravecupcakes.ca/

Photos by The Blue Lotus

3 thoughts on “our wedding food was awesome”

  1. Yum, yum and yum. Its hard getting to enjoy the amazing food as much as you’d like to when there’s so much going on on the big day itself – such a shame! We’d love to revisit the dishes we had and savour them…its such a key element.

    Love the menu you guys had – it sounds appropriately you!!!

  2. […] ladies for a weekday dinner at one of my favourite places, Boxwood.  You will recall that I held my wedding reception there.  Over a year later, we are still reminiscing about the food and their amazing Lemon Drop, which […]

Leave a Reply

