super easy gluten-free peanut butter cookies

Just three simple ingredients.

Yup.

Only three!  And flour is not one of them.

In fact, these peanut butter cookies are gluten-free (so long as peanut butter remains gluten-free, that is).  I’ve been making these cookies for years, ever since I discovered them on the label of my favourite Kraft Extra Creamy Peanut Butter.  At first, I was skeptical.  How can you make peanut butter cookies without flour?  It didn’t seem very likely, but curiosity took over and I just had to try them out.  And oh my… the best peanut butter cookies I have ever, ever had, and ever will.  It’s a bold statement, but nothing could come even close to matching the heavenly peanut butterness that are these cookies.

These are no ordinary peanut butter cookies.  They’re a lot denser.  They don’t have the soft crumb of the flour-based variety.  But what they do have pack is mega peanut butter flavour.  I made these once for a pot luck at work and I was told that for future pot lucks, all I need to bring are these cookies.  Yes, they are just that good.

ingredientsLike I said, only three ingredients.  Peanut butter, sugar, and egg.  I stick with my childhood brand, Kraft, for the peanut butter portion (and no, I do not get paid by Kraft to endorse their products.. I just love their peanut butter).  For some reason, the extra creamy variety works best for me when making these cookies.  I’ve tried the regular variety and it just wasn’t the same.  There’s some sorcery going on here.

mixitPut it all together in a bowl and mix it up.  It’s that easy!  I usually make a double batch at once (a single batch makes 24 cookies) because COOKIES, WHY NOT DOUBLE THE HAPPINESS?

doughOnce it’s mixed up, you get this sticky looking dough.  It doesn’t look like it’ll be easy to handle, but surprisingly it doesn’t stick to your hands at all.

pbballsLine a couple of baking sheets with parchment paper and start rolling 1″ balls of delectable peanut butter cookie dough.  Mmmmmm.

forkedAnd then flatten them out with a fork.  The classic peanut butter cookie look!

cookietowerSoon enough, the aroma of fresh peanut butter cookies overtakes the kitchen.  Mmmmm it’s heaven.

Super Easy Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg

Preheat the oven to 325F.  Line a couple of baking sheets with parchment paper.  Mix all the ingredients in a large bowl until well blended.  Roll into 1″ balls; place on the cookie sheets and flatten them with a fork.  Bake for 15-20 minutes or until lightly browned (do not overbake).  Let cool on the baking sheets for 5 minutes before transferring them onto a wire rack to cool completely.

6 thoughts on “super easy gluten-free peanut butter cookies”

  1. Gosh they look gooood. Have you tried it with crunchy peanut butter? I always like the texture and more nuttiness compared with the overly sweet nature of the creamy stuff. Reckon it would work okay?

    1. I reckon it should work just fine :) It might actually make for a more interesting texture. I’m curious to see if it works with natural peanut butter, but I’m scared to try.

  2. I will never make my peanut butter cookies again, this recipe is so awesome. I like that you added the pics at each step. Mine look exactly like the pics and tastes better than my standby recipe. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Not sure what I did wrong but my batter was super sticky…maybe it should have been chilled first. ..

Leave a Reply

