gluten-free banana bread

I got my wisdom teeth removed last Wednesday and had a few days off work to recover.  Rather than take it easy, I suddenly had this urge to bake things, even though it was highly unlikely I would be able to enjoy said baked things in my just-operated-on state.  It’s like I saw the bunch of overripe bananas on my counter top and suddenly I just had to turn them into something other than frozen overripe bananas that would live in my freezer for a few months before being thrown out.  The bananas deserved better.

So I whipped out my favourite new cookbook, Gluten Free Baking, and set to work on making a loaf of banana bread and a batch of banana muffins.

ingredientsThe ingredients required are pretty standard.  Gluten-free all-purpose flour mix, gluten-free baking powder, baking soda, dark molasses, ground allspice, dark brown sugar, eggs, buttermilk, butter, and of course the star of the show, bananas.  Although the bananas could’ve been even more ripe than they were, once they get to that state, I can’t handle eating them.  The texture is so off-putting that I’d rather use them in baking than provoke my gag reflex.  I guess my point is, “ripe bananas” can be subjective, so use your best judgment.

bananaFirst, mash said bananas.  The recipe calls for a cup and I find that 3 medium bananas ends up with almost the perfect amount.  I go old school and use a fork, but feel free to use a masher if you have one.

mixNext, add in the sugar, eggs, banana, melted butter, molasses, and buttermilk.  Give it a good mix.

batterSift in the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and allspice  into the wet ingredients.  Mix it all together until you have a lovely batter.

muffintinI made the two batches separately and put the loaf into the oven first, as it takes longer to bake.  I think I might’ve overfilled my muffin cups because I ended up with 18 filled instead of the full 24.  Oh well.

muffinsOh, but they turned out so beautifully.

The aroma of banana bread baking in the oven is one of the best things in the world.

I did try some of the banana bread, albeit it was a pretty pathetic attempt (who knew that I would miss chewing so much?).  I’m pleased to report that this gluten-free banana bread is just as delicious as regular banana bread.  It came out moist and flavourful, and the muffins were actually even better.  Mark couldn’t even tell they were gluten-free – he was actually quite surprised when I told him.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread (and Muffins!)

  • 1 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup mashed banana (3 medium bananas)
  • 3 1/2 tbsp butter, melted, plus extra for greasing
  • 1 tbsp dark molasses
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 3 cups gluten-free all-purpose flour*
  • 1 tsp gluten-free baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground allspice

Preheat the oven to 350F.  Grease a 9-inch loaf pan and line with parchment paper.

Put the sugar, eggs, banana, melted butter, molasses, and buttermilk in a large bowl and mix well.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and allspice.  Add to the bowl with the banana mixture and mix until combined.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake in the preheated oven for 50-60 minutes, or until golden brown and firm to the touch.  Remove from the oven and cool in the pan for 40 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

If making muffins, line 2 muffin tins with baking cups and fill them about 3/4 to the top with batter.  Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until golden brown.  Remove from the oven and let cool for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

*The all-purpose gluten-free flour mix recipe in the book is: 1 1/2 cups sorghum flour or brown rice flour, 1 3/4 cups tapioca flour, 1/2 cup almond flour, and 1 tsp xantham gum.

Leave a Reply

