marshmallow ice cream

It finally feels like summer around here, but it’s already late August and soon enough, the winter coats, mittens, and toques will come out of hibernation to help us face another Calgary winter.  But until that day comes, I plan to squeeze out as much of the summer as possible.  Which is why I’ve been churning out ice cream consistently over the past couple of weeks.  Because ice cream is quintessentially summertime.

I’ve been wanting to stick with simply flavoured ice creams, so when I came across this recipe for marshmallow ice cream, I just had to make it.  Marshmallows remind me of summertime, too, bringing back memories of toasting them over an open fire on camping trips for s’mores.  I hopelessly burn a few marshmallows every time I toast them; they tend to like catching on fire if you’re not careful (or maybe I just suck at roasting marshmallows).

This ice cream is easy to make and only requires 4 ingredients.  It’s not custard-based, so there’s no need to cure it overnight, which means less waiting time to enjoy a batch (always a plus for me).  The recipe I used isn’t overly detailed and I stumbled a couple of times, but I didn’t so bad for my first time making this.

ingredientsThe 4 ingredients you need are half & half cream, heavy cream, a bag of marshmallows, and vanilla extract.  I was on my home from a trip to T&T Supermarket and stopped in at a Sobey’s in an area I rarely frequent.  I was intrigued that they now sell lactose-free versions of anything other than regular milk.  Well, this is good!  As a sufferer of mild lactose intolerance, I figured I’d give these two products a try and see what happens.  The Sobey’s was the only place I’ve seen these products however, so it doesn’t seem to be overly popular yet.  As for the marshmallows, the recipe called for a 10-ounce bag.  I got the 250g (normal-sized) bag of marshmallows, which is close enough to 10 ounces.

potThe half & half and marshmallows are combined together and cooked until all the marshmallows have melted.  It’s best to stir it frequently to keep the mixture moving around, and it also helps the marshmallows melt.

mixtureSo while I was melting down the marshmallows, the volume started to grow exponentially, and the mixture got quite frothy.  I’m not sure if it’s suppose to do this, but I just went with it.  After all the marshmallows were melted, it looked like the mixture had more than doubled in volume.  Next step is to remove it from the heat and let cool for a couple of minutes.  I transferred it into a container and put it in the fridge to chill completely.  It took about 2 hours for the mixture to chill.

whippedcreamOnce the marshmallow mixture is chilled, it’s time to whip up the heavy cream until soft peaks form.  After the marshmallow mixture had chilled, I noticed the frothiness was still there, although the heavier liquid was at the bottom.  I didn’t want to waste any of it, so I just mixed the froth back into the mixture rather than skim it off.  I then added it into the whipped cream and gently folded it together, along with the vanilla extract.

By this time, with all the froth and the whipped-ness, I had quite a volume of ice cream mixture.  Thankfully, I had both of my freezer bowls chilled and ready to go, so I halved the mixture and churned them separately.  It was churning just fine and looking ice cream-like, so I wasn’t too worried.  I’m not sure how much volume of mixture I should’ve had though, so maybe I was supposed to skim off that frothiness after melting the marshmallows into the half & half?

icecream2Well, I guess whatever I did worked really well because the result is fantastic.  It turned out so creamy, rich, yet surprisingly light.  It has a lovely hint of vanilla and a subtle marshmallow taste.  I think next time I’ll try toasting the marshmallows first, to see if that heightens the flavour.

icecream3This would actually be so good sandwiched in between a couple of graham crackers and dipped in melted milk chocolate.  Like a s’mores, only the marshmallow part is ice cold and creamy.  Mmm.  Definitely helps to keep the summertime feeling going.

Marshmallow Ice Cream (adapted from this recipe)

  • 2 cups half & half
  • 1 bag (250g) marshmallows
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

In a large pot, combine half and half with marshmallows. Cook over medium heat, stirring frequently until marshmallows have completely melted. Remove from heat and let cool briefly. Then place in fridge to cool for 2 hours, until chilled and slightly thickened.

Once the marshmallow mixture has chilled, whip heavy cream until you have soft peaks. Fold into cooled marshmallow mixture and add vanilla extract. Stir until everything is combined. Place in ice cream maker and follow manufacturer’s directions for making ice cream.

Leave a Reply

