white chocolate peppermint popcorn

I’m well aware that candy cane season is behind us and I should have posted this to coincide with the holidays, but why limit ourselves to eating these types of goodies to specific seasons?  White chocolate and peppermint are universally loved, no matter what time of the year, and this sweet, salty, and minty popcorn is just the perfect treat to transcend those seasonal boundaries.

I gotta admit, I didn’t even think of how genius it is to put white chocolate and peppermint together on popcorn until a co-worker raved about a limited time treat that our local grocery store chain was selling.  You guessed it – that limited time treat was white chocolate peppermint popcorn, and oh was it ever good.  It’s just too bad that everyone else thought it was good, as it was always sold out whenever I tried to buy it.  The other flavour, dark chocolate drizzle with sea salt (omg I originally wrote that as “seal salt”), was clearly not as popular as its white chocolate counterpart.  Disappointment lead to inspiration, and I cooked this up in my kitchen with just a few ingredients.  The results are actually better than the bagged variety.

ingredientsThe popcorn purists out there are “tsk tsk”-ing me about using microwave popcorn, right?  I get it.  I’m not a real cook unless I can make popcorn the old fashioned way.  I used to make it that way when I was younger, but the older I get, the lazier I seem to get as well.  Plus, my favourite microwave kind, this Kettle Corn variety from Act II, actually works as the perfect popcorn for this as it’s already sweet and salty.  I can’t imagine buttery flavoured popcorn going well in this at all (ick), so if you’re going to go all lazy styles like me, I recommend either the kettle corn or natural variety.  For one bag of microwave popcorn, I found that 4 ounces of white chocolate is a good amount, and 5 candy canes turns into just enough candy cane dust to coat the kernels.

candycanesI tried to find the simple white and red candy canes, but I actually ended up really liking the combination.  The popcorn definitely looks more festive with the flecks of red and green, but regular white and red candy canes work just fine.  Can’t find candy canes?  Just use regular old peppermint candies.

First, get your popcorn ready by popping it and throwing it into a large bowl.

candychunksMake your candy dust.  Break up the candy canes into chunks and give them a whirl in a food processor until they turn into a fine powder.

candypowder1If you find larger chunks in your candy powder, just pass it through a mesh sieve to catch the bigger pieces.  I don’t mind some of the bigger chunks because I think it gives the popcorn more texture.

whitechocmeltedNext, melt the white chocolate over a double boiler until melty and smooth.  I prefer using the double boiler method because I tend to burn chocolate in the microwave.

whitechocWhile the chocolate is still warm, pour it over the popcorn and give it a good mix.

candypowderAdd the candy powder and give it another good mix.

sheetpanTransfer the popcorn to a parchment paper-lined baking sheet to let the chocolate set.  You can always put it in the fridge for 10 minutes or so to set the chocolate faster.

popcorn1Once the chocolate is set, enjoy!  This stuff doesn’t last long at all.  I made it for my family over the holidays and it went lightning fast.

White Chocolate Peppermint Popcorn

  • 1 pkg microwave popcorn, either Kettle Corn or natural variety
  • 4 ounces white chocolate
  • 5 candy canes (or substitute peppermint candies)

Pop the popcorn and set aside in a large bowl.

Break up the candy canes into large chunks and process in a food processor until powder fine.  Set aside.

Melt the white chocolate over a double boiler until smooth.  Add the chocolate to the popcorn and mix well.  Add the candy cane powder and mix well.  Transfer the popcorn to a parchment paper-lined baking sheet and let sit for 15-20 minutes, or until the chocolate is set.

Enjoy!

popcorn2

Leave a Reply

