maple & cinnamon candied pecans

This is not health food.

This is sweet and nutty indulgence.

Worth every single calorie.  I swear!  Okay, my hips don’t agree, but my taste buds sure do.

These sweet and crunchy pecans don’t last long in my household.  We devour these by the handfuls like a couple of crazed animals.  They are just that good.

I first made candied pecans for my maple bourbon & candied pecan ice cream.  I’ve since upgraded these pecans with the addition of cinnamon, and they’re worthy of their own post.

I warn you, once you start, you won’t be able to stop…

pecans2

Maple & Cinnamon Candied Pecans

  • 100g pecan halves
  • 1/2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt

Preheat the oven to 375F and prepare a baking sheet by lining it with parchment paper.

In a medium saucepan, melt the butter.  Stir in the maple syrup, cinnamon, vanilla, and salt.  Bring to a simmer.  Add the pecans and toss to coat.  Cook the pecans, stirring frequently, until the syrup has thickened, about 2-3 minutes.

Transfer the pecans to the parchment paper-lined baking sheet.  Spread into one layer.  Bake until caramelized, about 8 minutes.  Remove from oven; stir and let cool for 30 minutes to harden.  Roughly chop the pecans into bite-sized pieces.

Tip:  You can double the recipe, but I recommend making these in small batches.  The one time I made a quadrupled batch (because I was too lazy to split up the batches), the pecans ended up boiling in the syrup and some of them were soft after baking.  Unless you have a really large saucepan that will prevent the boiling (I liken it to browning beef cubes – don’t crowd the pan, otherwise the beef cubes will steam), stick to smaller batches.  It will guarantee that the pecans turn out toasty and crunchy.

Leave a Reply

