product review: kiss me organics matcha green tea powder

At the beginning of the summer, I was contacted by Kiss Me Organics to try out and write a review about their organic matcha green tea powder, available exclusively through Amazon.  First of all, I can’t believe September is already halfway over and we already had snow (yes, that’s right, SNOW).  Second, I had a lovely break to refresh and refocus, and I’ll be coming back with some news about where this blog will be headed this fall.  But before that, let’s get down to the business of matcha green tea.

Let me put it out there that I’m no matcha or green tea expert.  I just happen to love green tea with its earthy, slightly bitter taste.  In fact, I like to take my tea straight – no sweetener or milk (which is almost blasphemous when we’re talking green tea).  That’s not to say that I don’t enjoy a green tea latte once in a blue moon, but the majority of the time, I like it plain. Now, you see that I’m referring to matcha as if its interchangeable with “green tea”.  It’s sort of true.  Matcha powder is essentially finely milled or finely ground green tea.  It’s traditionally used in Japanese tea ceremonies; the type they use is of a drinking grade.  Kiss Me Organic’s matcha powder is culinary (or food) grade, which means it’s perfect for use in lattes, shakes, ice cream, baked goods, and a variety of savoury dishes as well.

When it first arrived, I was surprised at how small the bag of powder actually is, but I quickly learned why – the recommended daily dosage is only 1/2 to 1 teaspoon.  It would take quite a while to get through the bag if you’re limited just to the daily dose and you’re not using the powder for cooking or baking.  The aroma is a bit grassy and pungent, and the powder itself is a lovely green.

I can’t do without my espresso in the mornings, so I ended up having cold matcha drinks after lunch for an afternoon pick-me-up once in a while at work.  All I did was mix up a 1/2 teaspoon of powder in ice cold water, shake it up, and enjoyed.  I personally love the taste of this matcha powder.  It’s a strong green tea flavour, but not overpowering or bitter; although it’s culinary grade, it works well for me as a drinking tea.  It also helped to break up the monotony of water.  I drink a ton of water during the day, so it was nice to have a green tea break in between to liven up my taste buds and give me a little boost of energy.  Now that it’s getting a bit cooler outside, I mix up the powder in hot water for instant green tea.

At the same time I was trying the matcha powder, I made a number of lifestyle/health changes, so I can’t comment on the claims regarding increased focus or improvements in skin health (correlation =/= causation), but in general, green tea is regarded as a  “health food” for its anti-oxidants and minerals.

If you’re a fan of green tea, give this matcha powder a try.  Kiss Me Organics will even send you a free recipe booklet full of delicious things to make with the powder.  I personally have not tried any of their recipes – remember I said I like my tea plain – but for the adventurous types out there, the booklet contains some fun options.

*Disclosure: I received this product in exchange for my review. No other compensation was received and all opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “product review: kiss me organics matcha green tea powder”

Leave a Reply

